How do you record stems from JITLib?

Hi there,

I’m quite new to ProxySpace, but I figured out that if I’m playing with, say, 4 nodeproxies (~john, ~paul, ~george, ~ringo), I can record them all separately using something like this:

p = ProxySpace.push(s);

~john.play; ~paul.play; ~george.play; ~ringo.play;

p.activeProxies.do(_.postln)

(
// set up recorders for each proxy
r = p.activeProxies.size.collect{ |i|
	// get proxy names
	var proxyName = p.activeProxies[i];
	// set up recorder
	p.record(
		proxyName,
		("~Desktop/" ++ proxyName.asString ++ ".wav").standardizePath,
		headerFormat: "wav",
		sampleFormat: "float"
	)
};
)

// start recording
r.do(_.unpause)

// make music with ProxySpace, blah, blah, blah...

// stop recording
r.do(_.close)

This records the four soundfiles, but as far as I can tell, it’s the pre-monitor signals, not what I hear. Obviously, not what I want.

Is it possible to record the post-monitor output from each separate proxy (~john, ~paul, ~george, ~ringo), that is, what the proxy sends to the speakers? Separate soundfiles, including the silences when I’ve ‘.stopped’, paused, or haven’t ‘.played’ the proxy yet? Assuming the proxies exist, I’d want to record them all starting from exactly the same point in time.

There’s a lot I still don’t understand about JITLib. I haven’t really used NodeProxy ‘roles’ or ‘chains’ yet, and I’ve got no idea how these might be included in recordings or not. The docs show a few recording options, but I’m not sure which ones are good for what purpose.

Previously, I’ve made a lot of (non-JITLib) multi-track music in SC, using multiple MIDI-modulated patterns, recording “channels” as stems using the MixerChannel Quark. Then import into a DAW for production. This works well for me. Similarly, I’d like to record the separate stems from a JITLib jam (of exactly what I’m hearing).

Does anyone here record ‘stems’ from JITLib? How do you do it?

As ever, thanks for any insight or tips. :smiley:

Jim