Where can I find the code behind this?

Hello,

I’m trying to create a simple master volume slider for an interface I’m building. I’m not really a coder so I have my issues!

When I use this:

s.volume.gui

It does exactly what I need. I’d just like to integrate it into my interface rather than have it be its own window. If I could see the code behind it perhaps I’d be able to integrate it a bit easier, at least thats my thinking.

Thanks for any help

Greg

Hi Greg,

You could pass a parent window/view as the first argument, like this:

w = Window().front; // Your parent window
s.volume.gui(w);

You could also take a look at the help file for the Volume if you want to customize the controller further (set volume range, mute etc)

Right. I checked out the Volume help and am a bit confused by it. It says one of the instance methods is

volume = aVolume
set the volume (in db)

Im unsure of how to set the volume in db.

I’m also trying to bake this into an EZSlider but haven’t figured out how to do so correctly. I know the issue is in the action parameter.

Heres what I have:

masterVol = EZSlider(w, Rect(400, 20, 30, 365), " Vol ", \db.asSpec.step_(0.01),
{ v = s.volume;

v.volume = rrand(-90, 8); //this makes volume jump around when using the slider
	v.setVolumeRange(-90, 8);

},

unitWidth:30, numberWidth:60,layout:\vert, margin: m);

masterVol.setColors(Color.fromHexString("#336666"), Color.white, Color.fromHexString("#20222C"), Color.grey, Color.white,Color.yellow, nil, nil, Color.grey(0.7));

masterVol.font_(Font(“Menlo”,10));

Clear as mud im sure

Could something like this work? The action function takes the slider as the first argument, and then we take the .value from the slider to set the volume.

And also, move v.setVolumeRange out of the action function. It’s only needed once.

var w = Window().front;
var masterVol = EZSlider(w, Rect(400, 20, 30, 365), " Vol ", \db.asSpec.step_(0.01),
{ |slider|