Why use other languages?

Based on discussion on the SC4 thread, the some observation thread and generally a few different discussions I’ve seen here and my own curiosity, I was wondering if people could share why they use other languages with the SC server.

I’m a musician who has never programmed outside of sclang (I have dabbled, a very very very small amount in Nannou). I find Supercollider to be mindblowingly awesome but because I don’t know what I don’t know I never really understand what I’m missing out on. So, just out of curiosity, maybe people could share their reasons for using languages other than sclang?

Cheers!
Jordan

1 Like

I think it is just healthy discussion. SC is awesome. But there have been a ton of languages developed over the past 20 years since sc3 was made, so it is good to talk about these things.

1 Like

I was thinking to answer something like that. For what I read, it seems to generate some anxiety. sclang is not going to be deprecated, to have an environment with an IDE, builtin documentation, gui and workflows is something good for most(/normal) people by far. It happens that many users are also hardcore developers :slight_smile: and most reasons are rather technical discussions.

My reason was very specific: I was building a software loop pedal in sclang and the code had grown to a size where I kept running into bugs that were super hard to track down. In the rest of my programming life I primarily use Haskell, which is great both for finding and more importantly preventing bugs. For large pieces of code it was much easier for me to, as the saying goes, obviously have no bugs as opposed to not having any obvious bugs. I switched to Haskell for music years ago and never looked back – it’s been a joy!