Apotome sequencer

This article talks about a browser-based generative sequencer. Seems interesting.

2 Likes

There’s significant work to be done in understanding the ways that DAWs mess with your brain. Not only 12ET and metric grids, but… I see that most of my students have no concept of assembling a track from sections. They see, across the top of the screen, “bar 1 bar 2 bar 3…” and they instinctively create following the timeline. You have practically infinite capability to slice up, edit and rearrange material seamlessly but they’re held captive to the timeline, just like Arabic and African musicians struggle against equal temperament and metric quantization.

This looks massively valuable to expose the ways that DAWs use us instead of the other way around.

hjh

1 Like

I played around with it for a while sending MIDI data to SC. It worked pretty well, althought it seemed to stop playing sometimes.

I’m not very experienced with modular synths. I wonder if students would benefit from having to sometimes work away from the DAW and in a modular envirment. With VCV Rack, modular is now much more accessible.

Hi,
Is there anything that this sequencer does that isn’t possible with Pbind or the Scala Tuning library?

Curious to try it, but wanted to ask the others on this list.

Microtonal midi control of external Hardware requires pitchbend. Does Apotome sequencer take care of this behind the scenes?

Thank you
Bests

I was messing with this the other day, and had a simple example going in SC. I had to switch the instrument in Apotome to “Midi Out”. Also, I’m not convinced my pitchbend calculation is correct - apparently the bend range can be changed, so my 48 is just an assumption - and I sadly cannot tell if this Asmaroneng tuning sounds correct by ear. :slight_smile:

Example...
~pendingNote;
~notes = ();

MIDIdef.noteOn(\apoOn, {
	|note, vel|
	var synth;

"ON:   % [v%]".format(note, vel).postln;

~notes[note].free;
	~notes[note] = nil;

if (vel > 0) {