Atk FoaDecoderMatrix.newStereo not as expected

I’m new to Ambisonic and tried what @elifieldsteel was explaining in Ambisonic Sound - MUS 499C Fall 2018: Algorithmic Techniques for Mul and encountered that rendering to 2 channels didn’t work as I expected, when using newStereo. Why get both channels the identical signal? Probably, I don’t get the documentation right. What worked for me, was using newPanto(2) instead.

Btw, I think FoaXformDisplay provides a B-Format signal, so I guess 4 channels are enough.

Here’s a code snippet:

FoaXformDisplay.new(8);

~bus = Bus.audio(s, 4);
~bus.index;

(
{
	var sig;
	sig = In.ar(~bus, 4);
	// sig is in B-format
	sig = FoaDecode.ar(sig,	FoaDecoderMatrix.newPanto(2)); //.newStereo(0, 0));
	//sig.poll;
	Out.ar(0,sig);
}.play
)

Actually I’d like to render to a binaural image (head phones). I managed to do it as following, where I had to instantiate the ~decoder first before using later, otherwise I encountered the same problem as reported here ATK Binaural decoder. Supposedly, that’s a timing issue.

What does 1013 mean? I suppose it’s a specific model, but I couldn’t find a documentation on that.

~bus = Bus.audio(s, 4);
~bus.index;
~decoder = FoaDecoderKernel.newListen(1013);

(
{
	var sig;
	sig = In.ar(~bus, 4);
	sig = FoaDecode.ar(sig,	~decoder); 
	Out.ar(0,sig);
}.play
)

Hello @aiode, I’ll reply to this first query…

… by referring you to the documentation for FoaDecoderMatrix.newStereo, and point you to a few relevant settings to try:

// Default: Cardioids at 180 deg
~decoder = FoaDecoderMatrix.newStereo

// Cardioids at 131 deg
~angle = (131/2).degrad
~pattern = 0.5
~decoder = FoaDecoderMatrix.newStereo(~angle, ~pattern)

// Super-cardioids at 115 deg
~angle = (115/2).degrad
~pattern = (3-sqrt(3))/2

// Hyper-cardioids at 105 deg
~angle = (105/2).degrad
~pattern = 0.75

// Blumlein
~angle = (90/2).degrad
~pattern = 1.0

Your example code chooses:

~angle = 0.0
~pattern = 0.0