Audio input with event Tgrain

Hello,

I’m very new to SC and trying to use AudioIn to trigger a synth. My idea is to have an audio input, record it in a buffer, and then play it back in a pattern (it can be any synth, but in this case, i’m using Tgrain from the example )

Please let me know what buffer I have to use instead of .alloc

d= Buffer.alloc(s,44100*20.0,2);

(
SynthDef(\audioPure, {
arg in=0, out=0,deltime=0.7, mix = (-0.5), amp=3 ,record=1;
var sig, delay,rec;
sig= AudioIn.ar(1) *amp;
rec = RecordBuf.ar(sig, d, run:record, loop:1);
CombC.ar(rec,0.4,0.3,2,mul:5.0);
}).send(s);
)

(
{
var trate, dur, rate;
trate = MouseY.kr(2,200,1);
dur = 4 / trate;
rate = Dseq([10, 1, 1, 0.5, 0.5, 0.2, 0.1], inf);
TGrains.ar(2, Impulse.ar(trate), PlayBuf.ar(2,d), rate, MouseX.kr(0,BufDur.kr(b)), dur, Dseq([-1, 1], inf), 0.1, 2);
}.scope(zoom: 4);
)

hi velma!

there are a few things happening in this patch (some of which are kind of subtle actually).

the Buffer.alloc looks good except that there is a subtle thing in the documentation of TGrains that the buffer it uses should be mono and here you have allocated a stereo buffer. SC has one annoying behavior that it tends to just silently fail when there is a mismatch like that and it trips up a lot of people new to SC I think.

the other things to fix up:

• looking at the documentation for TGrains you’ll see that the 3rd argument is meant to be a buffer number (rather than something that plays a buffer (in this case you have put PlayBuf)). This just means that Tgrains wants the actual buffer and it will deal with the playback of it. so you can swap out PlayBuf.ar(2,d) simply with d.bufnum (or use the shortcut of letting SC figure out the actual number by passing in the buffer directly so just d).

• there is a typo in the BufDur.kr(b). I assume that should be d instead of b