Basic Coding Help!

Hello,
I am relatively new to SuperCollider. There is a very basic understanding that I am missing. It is probably simple but I don’t know what I don’t know.
In the code below, if I enclose the two synth creation arguments (m =… and x =…) in the same region/code block as the synth definitions, I get no sound. If instead, I run them separately after the SynthDef code block runs, all works well. Can anyone please tell me what I am missing? I would like to run all code at once rather than having to start multiple code blocks ‘by hand’.
Thank you in advance!

(
~masterBus = Bus.audio(s, 1);

SynthDef(\master, {
	| vol = 0.25 |
	Out.ar(0, In.ar(~masterBus)*vol); // <- In reads off the ~masterBus
}).add;

SynthDef(\osc, {
	arg out = 0, vol = 0.25; // <- NB! default output is arg
	var snd = SinOsc.ar(440);
	snd = snd * vol;
	Out.ar(out, snd)}
).add;
)  // <- if this is moved after 'm = Synth(\master...etc' there is no sound

x = Synth(\osc, [\out, ~masterBus], addAction: 'addToHead'); // <- NB! sets output to the master
m = Synth(\master, [\vol, 0.1], addAction: 'addToTail');

// <- if ')' is moved to here

Firstly, you need to enclose code you post in the backtick: ` not a quotation mark :slight_smile: - you can go back to edit your post using the pencil icon.

I added some comments to your code to explain the chain of events that cause you to not hear anything in this case:

(

~masterBus = Bus.audio(s, 1);
// A bus is allocated. There are a fixed number of buses on the server, so this is effectively instantaneous, as simple as picking the next free bus number. 

SynthDef(\master, {
	| vol = 0.25 |
	Out.ar(0, In.ar(~masterBus)*vol); // ← In reads off the ~masterBus
}).add;
// A SynthDef called \master is defined, and sent to the server. It can take time for the server to load this def, so master is NOT AVAILABLE RIGHT AWAY.

SynthDef(\osc, {
	arg out = 0, vol = 0.25; // ← NB! default output is arg
	snd = snd * vol;
	Out.ar(out, snd)}
).add;