Clicks and Pops

I’m running a linux machine devoted to SuperCollider. My audio device is a Native Instruments Komplete Audio 6 mkII. I’ve followed various guides and believe I have things pretty tightened. Jack2. Realtime Kernel (with unused soundcard, wifi and bluetooth modules removed and running rtirq to set priorities). CPU frequency scaling set to performance, etc. At a buffer size of 256 I’ll see the occasional Xrun. 128 more so. And 64 is non-stop. I haven’t found much of a difference between 48000 or 44100. But here’s the thing at no matter the buffer size (I’ve tested up to 1024) and sometimes with a simple SinOsc I will here clicks and pops with Cadence/Catia not showing any Xruns at the time. I’ve tried swapping cables so I don’t think that is the issue. It happens on both speakers and headphones. This doesn’t always happen but frequently and with no predictability that I can find. Any Ideas?

I’m not an expert on linux audio troubleshooting (tho I’ve done my share of tweaking on my linux machines), but a bit more info about your hardware would be useful to anyone wanting to give advice:
what kind of machine, processor, which linux distro, which kernel version? By ‘Realtime Kernel’ you mean low-latency “Preempt-RT”? [help.ubuntu.com]

Are glitches only present with SC or any other audio program? What is CPU doing when running SC server?