Continuous envelopes and free-floating oscillators

I’m new to supercollider and I’m having a blast. I’m a live playing guy, and unsatisfied with the offering of current offering of Analog / VA synths that fit my measly budget. So I want to create my own which can do whatever I want! I’m reading lots of info on VA modelling and non-linearity and hope to build my own VA synth in SC, which I can then miniaturize into a desktop synth to accompany my stage piano. But I’m not in a rush, this will probably take a while. I do have some questions about conventions and best-practices.

Continuous envelopes
On many poly and monosynths envelopes are not continuous and don’t reset on each key. This applies particularly to monosynths. If you’re playing a piece on a mono, the envelope usually continues from the last voltage it was at when newly gated on keypress. For example; The key I press it at the decay stage. When I press a new key and the envelope is in ‘attack’, the attack continues from the value it was in the decay stage instead of starting from 0 (which would result in an audible ‘pop’). Is it possible to give a starting point to an envelope generator where it picks up instead of a simple add?

Free-floating oscillators
What I mean with free-floating oscillators is the following. I have 8 oscillator banks (or more if processing power allows it) of 2 oscillators each for 8 voices of polyphony or 8 voice unison. It would be more realistic to keep these 8 banks in existence, but from tutorials and other posts on these forum I gathered that the convention is to create a new Synthdef each time a key is pressed via Midi and terminate the when the envelopes are done. Is running the banks (and their accompanying VCF’s, envelopes and VCA’s) running continuously possible and implementable, or would I have to jump through a lot of hoops? Keeping them running continuously would help non-linearity and the continuous envelopes, as I could keep track of the envelopes per voice.