Controlling VST/AU in a polyphonic, continuously-pitched manner

I’ve got a lot of experience with the Native Instruments MASSIVE synth, which I love for its sound and modularity and flexibility, but now that I’d been doing SC for a few months, there’s all these ideas I want to try for controlling the parameters of preexisting synths that I already know and love, rather than having to recreate/approximate them from scratch in SC.

My current experiment challenge is described here: How to read a note/frequency from an array while a Ugen is playing?

I’ve figured out how to do this in SC, but now I would like to use this to control the MASSIVE synth. Originally I tried doing this with the MASSIVE standalone app, but I quickly missed Ableton Live’s midi keyboard functionality which allows me to test out sounds with the middle row asdfghjkl before I try out code-based playing, so now I’m sending MIDI from SC->Ableton->MASSIVE.

I’ve got the easy stuff working, i.e. playing midi via patterns, but now I want to try my linked idea above where I play and hold notes, and bend their pitches to form different coords depending on where MouseX is on the screen. This is tricky for a few reasons:

1. I have to figure out a scheme whereby the synth itself lets me play a midi note and bend it to where I need it to go
  2. Ideally each note should have its own capability to bend to a different pitch independent of the other notes that are playing (which disqualifies bend range)

So, with this in mind, I believe I actually have something pretty decent working, but it works specific to the MASSIVE synth (and probably a few others, assuming they’re extremely configurable).

Here’s what I have:

1. For each individual note in the chord (which bends to different notes in other chords over time), I play a noteOn with a different note value, e.g. 60, 61, 62