CPU headroom, multi threading

I mainly build and play systems with a ridiculous number of channels and speakers. With multichannel expansion, multiple iterations and general megalomania, CPU headroom gets thin on a single thread.

I never understood the supernova thing - is it still alive? haven’t read about it for a while.

Is it possible to run synths in different threads?

Could I use multiple servers to distribute CPU load? One server per synth? The don’t speak to each other. It’s always direct to hardware output.

Any hints to unlock the power of modern CPUs in SC?

I’m a rookie in coding. I don’t always understand the discussion on the forum. I need a “for dummies” answer.

Thanks, Bernhard

I have had good luck running multiple versions of scsynth at the same time. I often have to allocate a lot of buffers though, so I tend to do that on one instance, and leave things that are using their own memory (FFT, delays, etc) on different instances. It’s some book keeping, but I feel like this is kind of what the architecture of scsynth / sclang was made for.

supernova works on my machine… Server.supernova then s.reboot

I quick checked just piling up SinOscs in a ParGroup with supernova vs a Group with scsynth and I see about 50-60 percent better performance. You do have to plan though as regards node order to get any benefit

Multiple servers is super easy and efficient.

//make 4 servers, each with their own id
(
    var id = 57100;

~servers = 4.collect{|i| 
        Server.new("server"++i, NetAddr("localhost", id+i), Server.local.options).boot
    };
)

//see the servers in the array - you should also look in Activity Monitor and see a bunch of scsynth instances
~servers.postln;

//each of the servers send the audio out channels [0,1], which are the first two channels of BlackHole (you won't hear anything at this point)
(
    4.do{|i|
        1000.do{{SinOsc.ar(Rand(1000,3000), 0, 0.001)}.play(~servers[i])};
    }   
)

//look at the 1000 synths on each server: