Cristoffel words programming in supercollider

Hello, I’m pretty new to programming and trying to recreate a pseudo code that the book Creating Rhythms of Richard and Stefan Hollos offers to obtain upper Cristoffel words for y/x slopes, where y are the note onsets and the x are silences in a total of x+y beats rhythm length. Given pseudo code is:

a = y
b = x

if(upper word) print 1 else print 0
while( a != b )
{
if ( (a > b)
{
print 1
b = b + x
}
else
{
print 0
a = a + y
})
}
if(upper word) print 0 else print 1

The code I came up for in Supercollider is (where I set x=1 and y=2):

(
{x = 1; y = 2; a = y; b = x;};
“Upper word = 1”.postln;
{
while( {a != b} ,
{
if ( (b < a), {“1”.postln; b = b + x ; b.postln}, {“0”.postln; a = a + y; a.postln} );
};
);
};
“Upper word = 0”.postln;
)

But this doesn’t work. I am having a hard time finding on the web info about straightforward programming of “while” and “if” in Supercollider.
Also I haven’t found a friendly way to allow any user to input x and y variables values (in the example, 1 and 2 repectively), so what I mean is whether supercollider could be programmed to prompt the user to provide such values.

As I said I’m pretty new to all of this and I will appreciate any guidance and support to figure out what it is what I’m doing wrong. Thanks a lot for your help. Best, JF

Hello! Welcome to SuperCollider :slight_smile:
I don’t see anything wrong in your ifs and whiles, but there’s an issue in how you write your function.

This is just a function definition. Everything between curly brackets is a Function. A function is an object which can be referenced by variables and responds to a value() method, which actually evaluates the instructions contained in the function.
So, to make it obvious, by writing the above you are not setting x=1, y=2, a=y and b=x; you are only defining a function that will apply those assignments when called.