Data Bending / Open Raw in SC

Hi,

Many will know that data bending in Audacity is a very easy process (for example, importing an image file as raw data and playing it).

I’m trying to figure out if it would be possible to do the same in SC. Is it doable?

Thank you in advance.

Warning: noob here with SC , take my advice with a mountain of salt

I would guess that using a Buffer and reading the image file and converting the rbga values per pixel, assuming you read from a PNG file for example , to sample data and then playing back the buffer should do the trick.

You could also use the Image class from the gui to read from an image file , then you can use the .getPixel(x, y) method to get each pixel as RGBA integer . You can also use the Image class as a GUI element to allow you to draw on top of the image and change the sound real time. Image has a draw method but you can also use setPixel method to directly change each pixel.

Of course the real deal here is how you interpret the image file which will define the musicality of the sound in question. So dont expect to get the same sound results as you may get in other software, a synth can interpret an image file any way it wants to. Unlike a audio file an image file may not represent a sound as you may expect.

1 Like

Thank you for your answer @kilon. Noob here as well.

However, I was more interested in an automatic ‘interpretation’ of the file. Something like:

f = SoundFile.new;
f.openRead(“/my/path/whatever.pdf”); //or .jpg, .mov, etc.
f.play;

Could SC interpret the raw data somehow? Of course this doesn’t work, but maybe there’s a way to do it. Or maybe not…

SoundFile assumes that there will be an audio file header, which of course PDF doesn’t have.

But there is File, which makes no such assumption.