Defining harmonic rules in polyphonic setting

Hi there, a question from a complete newbie (!), who’s just scratching the surface of supercollider’s apparently immense possibilities.
How would I go about defining harmonic rules in a polyphonic setting?
E.g. I imagine four voices, all using the chromatic scale (in different registers). The melody could be “random”, but the harmonies should always be seventh chords (in different inversions). How would I achieve this? Looking fotward to hearing your suggestions!

This really depends on how you want to mutate these voices later.

One ‘supercollidic’ way of doing this is with patterns:

s.waitForBoot {
	Pbind(
		\dur, 1,
		\degree, [5, 7, 9, 11] - 1, // 7th chord
		\scale, Scale.major,
		\root, Prand( (0..12), inf), 
		\octave, Ptuple(Prand( (3..5), inf)!4, inf) // random octave per voice
	).play
}

Here the voices do not exist in the traditional sense since the first ‘voice’ here might play the lowest pitch for one chord, then the highest for the next. If you wanted to have an idea of voice leading you would need a more complex system.

Thank you so much! Will dive into it asap.

A simple example for more voices, it employs a trick named data sharing. This is described in more detail in Chapter 06g of the Pattern Guide in SCdoc.

(
// Pattern a silently determines the sequence of harmonies
a = Pbind(
	\type, \rest,
	\dur, 3,
	\chord, Pseq([[0, 4, 8, 11], [1, 3, 7, 10], [2, 5, 6, 9]], inf).collect { arg x; ~chord = x }
);

// voices "look" at the harmony pattern
p = Pbind(	
	\note, Pfunc { ~chord.choose },
	\octave, Prand([3, 4], inf),
	\dur, Prand([0.4, 0.2, 0.2], inf)
);

q = Pbind(
	\note, Pfunc { ~chord.choose },
	\octave, Prand([5, 6], inf),
);

Ppar([a, p, q]).play
)