FAILURE IN SERVER /s_new Group 1 not found

Hi,

I am relatively new to Supercollider and have been working on a project for some weeks now which is nearing completion. However I am repeatedly coming up against a situation where, after initialising the program the synths I am using fail to sound (70% of the time) although the data used to supply them continues to be processed as I can see in the post window. If I stop the program and try a reboot I get: FAILURE IN SERVER /s_new Group 1 not found. If I wait a bit longer FAILURE IN SERVER /s_new too many nodes is generated repeatedly. Using plotTree I note that synths are being created but not sounding. I wondered whether this situation had anything to do with problems in clientID assignment?- though am not sure. I am keen to finish the project asap so any suggestions as to a possible solution would be very welcome. Thx in advance…

Hi,

more specificactions would help. You are providing no code and nearly no other information what you are actually doing, so it’s difficult. The message indicates that some language process is continously running after server has been quit (Task, Routine, Pattern/EventStreamPlayer ?). Seems you couldn’t really stop your process for whatever reason.

Hi again,

Thanks for giving my question your attention. Here is the code. It works as desired in about 50% of cases. But as indicated in my question I get "FAILURE IN SERVER group 1 not found in a significant number of start-ups a situation which is unacceptable for performance obviously. Interestingly I also get this message on first start up which suggests that it is not simply a question of a previous pass failing to terminate, The situation has been slightly improved by assigning source and effects groups directly but the problem has not been alleviated entirely. Still trying to master posting code to this forum being a newbie…

(

o = Server.local.options;
o.memSize = 2.pow(20);
s.reboot;

Server.default.waitForBoot {