Finding plugins

Hi,

I am just starting out with SC and I am currently trying to understand the mechanics of it.

atm I am using pianotec as a vst plugin and now I would like to add an effect plugin to combine it with.
I don’t care what the plugin does as long as I can hear that it has an effect - I only want to experiment with combining plugins and not produce a specific result.

However my problem is that all the plugins I can find are all either vst3 or lv2, both of which afaik cannot be used with sc.

So how can I find plugins that are usable with sc - is there maybe a curated list somewhere or any other recommendation?

VSTPlugin does support VST3 plugins… Please check the documentation.

Tip: you can call browse on VSTPluginController to get an overview of all available plugins.

From the documentation of VSTPluginController.open:

~fx.open("GChorus"); // assuming 'GChorus' is in the Server's plugin dictionary.
~fx.open("mda Delay.vst3"); // VST3 plugins always need a '.vst3' extensions

But I have to admit that it could be stated more prominently… The Pd documentation is much clearer in this regard.

If you are a beginner like me, and I have been at it for like 20 years, all supercollider-basics-to-deluxe-needs are covered in the sc3-plugins kit GitHub - supercollider/sc3-plugins: Community plugins for SuperCollider

Personally, I wish i would have stayed clear of all the extras i installed with Quarks.sgui when those came about.

When in need VST’s and whatnot i route the sound of SC to my DAW and back when applicable.

Lukiss.

edit; PS… VSTPlugin is superdupernice… but i tend to fall back on my mixer-glued-to-my-soundcard and daw.

that was the bit I was missing - I had assumed (by not reading the docs - sorry) that everything in the .vst3 directory would be treated as a vst3-plugin (and got an error with a vst3 .so) but that is not the case. You can have both vst2 and vst3 plugins in this directory and it’s the extension of the file that matters.