Function for both M/S and L/R panning

Hello everybody,

I wrote a very simple function for doing both mid/side and left/right panning on a signal (see below). As I’m fairly new to SuperCollider, I wonder whether this is a good way to do it? Or would there be a more efficient way not requiring the use of two Balance2 uGens?

// Define the function
(
~panWidth = {|sig, msBalance=0, lrBalance=0|
	sig = Balance2.ar(sig[0] + sig[1], sig[0] - sig[1], msBalance);
	sig = Balance2.ar(sig[0] + sig[1], sig[0] - sig[1], lrBalance);
};
)

// Two simple examples:

// Mid only, panned center (lrBalance argument left at default)
play { a = SinOsc.ar([88,89]) * 0.1; ~panWidth.(a, -1) }

// Side only, panned 50% left
play { a = SinOsc.ar([88,89]) * 0.1; ~panWidth.(a, 1, -0.5) }

Hi,

Don’t quite know what you are trying to achieve here. Could you elaborate?
If you wanted to boost or cut either the side or mid I’d do something like this:

~msBal = {
    |lr, dbInput|
    var db = (\midDb: 0, \sideDb: 0) ++ dbInput;
    var amps = [db.midDb, db.sideDb].dbamps;
    var msIn = [lr[0] + lr[1], lr[0] - lr[1]];
    var msOut = msIn * amps * -6.dbamp; // -6 is needed to compensate for the ms conversion.
    [msOut[0] + msOut[1], msOut[0] - msOut[1]]; 
};

// examples

x = {
    var lr = Pan2.ar(PinkNoise.ar(-15.dbamp), LFNoise2.kr(1));
    var msBalanced = ~msBal.(lr, (\sideDb: 5)); // boost side by 5db
    //var msBalanced = ~msBal.(lr, (\midDb: -5)); // cut mid by -5db
    //var msBalanced = ~msBal.(lr, (\midDb: -15, sideDb: 2.5)); // cut mid by -15db and boost side by 2.5db
    msBalanced
}.play;

Just a thing with the function you have written, it doesn’t return anything and you should refrain from modifying the inputs. It will make things easier in the long run if you avoid these two things.

Don’t worry about efficiency, not only will this sort of thing will have near zero impact, but you shouldn’t even worry about efficiency until the code is too slow.

J

1 Like

Hey Jordan,