Has anyone used SuperCollider from Kotlin?

Hi hi :slight_smile:

During the last 3 years I’ve been using Kotlin which has become the language I enjoy most (among 30 others I tried over the years), so I was wondering if there’s a way to do SuperCollider from it. I was happy to discover ScalaCollider, which I can add to my Kotlin project with just one line

implementation("de.sciss:scalacollider_3:2.7.4")

but the next thing I heard was that Scala doesn’t mix well with other JVM languages. The IDE shows errors in the code and the tooltips do not help me figuring out how to fix them (probably because the Scala code was not meant to be accessed this way).

Next thing that comes to mind is How I ported 10K lines of Scala to Kotlin in one week?! | HackerNoon but I have zero experience with Scala.

Is there anyone here who might be interested in using Kotlin to produce sound? Any success trying to do that?

I really enjoy kotlin as well (I use it for Android development at my day job). I haven’t tried for SC yet though. I’m short on time at the moment, but I’ll want to try this as well.
Josh

1 Like

Check out PunKt, a live coding environment in Kotlin that uses SuperCollider: GitHub - pjagielski/punkt: Live coding music library/environment for Kotlin

2 Likes

PunKt looks great but I’m more into sound than rhythm. I hope some day it allows creating synths too :slight_smile:

I hear ya, I was dreaming of using SuperCollider inside of OPENRNDR. I don’t know much about any JVM languages, but from what I’ve gathered it seems it is possible to call Scala from Kotlin, if you first compile the Scala to bytecode and then include that in your Kotlin project…

Maybe @Sciss has some thoughts on this?

1 Like