Kitchen studies (miSCellaneous)

Hello SC community,
I’m studying the “kitchen studies” from the miSCellaneous lib (Thanks to Daniel Mayer).
in the “preparations” part a function is defined like this:

// this Function determines enveloping convention:
// absEnv = 1 (true): attack and release times in milliseconds are taken anyway,
// 'overlap' is possibly overriden.
// absEnv = 0 (false): attack and release times in milliseconds are taken only if
// their sum is smaller than grain duration (derived from 'overlap' and 'trigRate'),
// otherwise they are shrunk and their relation is kept.

d = ();

d.attRel = { |dict, granDur, att, rel, absEnv = 1|
    // times in secs
    var sum;
    att = att * 0.001;
    rel = rel * 0.001;
    sum = att + rel;
    (sum <= granDur).if {
        [att, rel]
    }{
        (absEnv == 1).if {
            [att, rel]
        }{
            [granDur * att, granDur * rel] / sum
        }
    }
};

as you can see d.attRel has 5 arguments, the first one is dict.
This argument: “dict” is never use inside the function definition.
In the next parts (1 to 6) this function is called like this (inside a PbindFx Pattern):

// determining concrete envelope times (see Function attRel above) 
[\att, \rel], Pfunc { |ev| d.attRel(ev[\granDur], ~att, ~rel, ~absEnv) }

the function d.attRel is called with four arguments what happens to the first argument “dict” ?

Can someone explain me this ?
Sorry if I miss something obvious.
Thanks a lot for your patience.
Have a good week-end
Fabien

This is part of the ‘object prototyping’ behavior of Event and Environment. See https://doc.sccode.org/Classes/Environment.html#Using%20Environments%20as%20object%20prototypes for an explanation of this feature. Note that Event is a subclass of Environment; for the most part you can mentally replace “Environment” with “Event” while reading this. To answer your specific question: