[newbie] midi control for master volume [SOLVED]

Hello guys,
I am an absolute newbie of SC.

I just wonder if there’s a way to add a code in all my patches in order to control a master volume by a MIDI controller. Just something to put by default…

MIDIClient.init;
MIDIIn.connectAll;
MIDIdef.cc(here something ,62);

Hello!

What OS are you on? I believe that the way operating systems specify MIDI ports might be different.

I’m on MacOS, so if you are as well, things should work as described. Otherwise check out the help docs for MIDI.

The function itself should work the same, no matter you OS, except the argument for specifying which controller you want (the srcID key)

If you have a specific controller in mind, but have several, and want the function to ignore others, you can figure out its srcID by first evaluating MIDIClient.init and then MIDIIn.connectAll.

If not you can skip this next part.

See what all the sources are by providing MIDIClient the sources message to get an array of all your MIDI inputs.

MIDIClient.init;
MIDIIn.connectAll;

MIDIClient.sources;
/* mine returns the following in the post window
-> [ MIDIEndPoint("Console 1 Fader", "Console 1 Fader", -881897415), MIDIEndPoint("Sensel Morph", "Sensel Morph", 1281011945), MIDIEndPoint("Console 1", "Console 1", -920073526), MIDIEndPoint("TOUCHE_SE", "Main Port", 1922042393), MIDIEndPoint("TOUCHE_SE", "Control Port", -1670561750) ]

srcID in the MIDIdef actually is looking for the uid, which is the long string of numbers in each list).

A good way to get it that ties it to the controller rather than the order it’s initialized in is to use MIDIIn.findPort.

For instance I set this up with the Sensel Morph, so this code returns its uid:
MIDIIn.findPort("Sensel Morph", "Sensel Morph").uid

If I wanted to use the Touche, I would have written MIDIIn.findPort("TOUCHE_SE", "Main Port").uid.