normalizeToSum to any number method

I know i’m a noob (ish), and annoying probably
But I thought maybe this would be helpful. Instead of normailzeSum just to 1. A method that will normalize to any number.

+ Array {
    normalizeToSum { |targetSum|
        var currentSum = this.sum;
        ^this * (targetSum / currentSum);
    }
}

// Example usage

a = [1, 2, 3, 4];
b = a.normalizeToSum(10);
b.sum.round(0.001); // Should return 10

Goes in Extensions folder.

Nice work, and I don’t mean to discourage,
but in this case, I would just use

b = a.normalizeSum * 10

as it’s actually less characters I think…

(I’ve also picked up that it’s generally better if possible / when you intend to share code to make a new subclass rather than adding methods to an existing class… i.e.

MyBetterArray[slot] : Array {
  normalizeToSum { |targetSum| ^this.normalizeSum * targetSum }
  /* add more methods here */
}

and then:

a = MyBetterArray [1, 2, 3];
b = a.normalizeToSum(10);
b

for instance, if I run your code that depends on your special array method, I might forget to remove your array method from my class library and then accidentally use normalizeToSum in some code I then send to someone else, and then it’s a mess. (It’s already a bit of a mess because of quarks library and lack of namespacing…) But this way, the default behavior of an array stays the same whether or not your extension is installed, and it’s much easier to share code.

Or we could rename it . NormSt(10)
There ,. shorter. No dangling operator. I don’t know, i how’s it any different than any other method ? Add it to sc and there will be no conflicts. Try running any code with a version of supercollider from 5 years ago. Or code from 10. I definitely agree it is annoying, it just keeps happening…always a deprecated message eventually, I don’t know how these things get added permanently, I’m just offering up an idea.