Patterns & value ramping

Hi, I’m new to SuperCollider & learning about patterns.

I want to perform value ramping using Pseq (with the ramping passing in synthdef with XLine or similar). So, each successive value sent by Pseq would ramp up from the previous value at a defined duration. That could be just pitch glissando/portamento, or something more interesting.

I am not exactly sure how to do this. I can create the ramping effect in the synthdef, controlled for example by two parameters \freqStart and \freqEnd, as shown here :

(
SynthDef(\test, { |out, freqStart = 20, freqEnd = 20|
    Out.ar(out,
		SinOsc.ar(XLine.kr(freqStart,freqEnd,1), 0, 0.2) *
		Line.kr(1, 0, 1, doneAction: Done.freeSelf)
    )
}).add;
)

Pbind(\instrument, \test, \dur, 1, \freqStart, Pseq([100, 200, 500]), \freqEnd, 5000).play;

. . . but I am hoping someone can show me how to take it a step further. . . so that \freqStart will always be the previous value, and \freqEnd always be the incoming value?

Thanks for your help.

Hi and welcome,

looking forward resp. backwards with patterns - this comes up quite frequently and to my knowledge there’s no built-in datatype, which can handle it smoothly.
The underlying reason is that mostly patterns are thought to be stateless, but here at least you have to store one state. The good news is that the pattern system is flexible enough to make a workaround with an external variable and functional statements, e.g.:

(
~lastFreq = 300;

Pbind(
	\instrument, \test, 
	\dur, 1, 
	\freqRamp, Pseq([100, 700, -100, -700]),
	\freqStart, Pfunc { ~lastFreq },
	\freqEnd, Pfunc { |ev| 
		var next = ~lastFreq + ev[\freqRamp];
		~lastFreq = next;
	}	
).trace.play;
)

The Pfunc takes over the current event with its Function, so inside you can refer to all current values for a calculation.