Plot \bars mode problem

Hi guys,

Sorry if this is very basic question.
I am experiencing this using plot, let’s say I create an array with 2 elements, then I set plot mode to \bars, however it only shows a single bar. As a total beginner with SC , I just wondering if that is expected, if so, how can we make it to show a bar per array element?

Thanks a million.

It seems the last element is not plotted, e.g. this shows what you’d want it to show:

(
var bars = 2;
p = (Array.rand(bars, 0.0, 1.0) ++ 0).plot; // add a dummy 0 
p.plotMode = \bars;
)

Probably a bug?

2 Likes

thank you! that fixes it visually. Cool tip :slight_smile:

that was my initial impression too by checking p.values in the post window, the array has the correct elements, just the last one is skipped in the graph:

Thanks again mate.

AFAIK it is always the last value that is left out in bars mode which kinda make sense. When in point or linear mode, the first value is displayed on the leftmost vertical line, last value on the rightmost vertical line. Bars and steps fill out the space between vertical lines and show from when the value was changed until next value change. There is no way they can show the value that starts on the rightmost vertical line without adding another vertical line to the plot. I guess from a design point of view it makes sense not to alter the size of the plot when flipping through modes which you would have to do to show the last value.

1 Like

Thanks for the info @Thor_Madsen, very appreciated.

What I’ve found a bit confusing is (as SC beginner) is, if I have an array with 8 elements and I enable the “edit mode” on, I was expecting that allow me to edit all the values (8), that seems true with some modes, except \bars and \step if I recall correctly?

Cheers,

I haven’t really tested editing in bars or steps mode

It is not easy to judge that this is a bug.
It can be the characteristics of \levels, \steps, \bars.

(
var width, modes;
width = 150;