Sc_kernel - SuperCollider / sclang kernel for Jupyter

Jupyter is an environment which allows to use a repl in a browser. This allows for rich text source code which can embedd videos, images, LaTeX code as well as audio. Jupyter is heavily used in Data Science and Machine Learning and is also known via the proprietary fork Google Colab.
I heard sagas that old SuperCollider versions supported rich text as source code - now it is back :slight_smile:

I started coding this in 2020 and used it since to create some course materials for websites but decided to give this a proper release by anouncing it here. Have in mind that this is still a beta (currently @ v0.4.0), any contributions are welcome.

Stepping into the Jupyter ecosystem allows to use e.g. Jupyter Book or use its real time collaboration features (see below).

Installation

Assuming you have python with pip installed as well as SuperCollider (of course) it is as easy as

pip3 install --upgrade sc_kernel

You may want to take a look at venv to keep your python environment clean.

Right now I am unsure if this will work under Windows - I don’t have a machine to test the delicate piping of the sclang process, any help via a PR is welcome here :slight_smile:

I only tested this with macOS (intel) and Ubuntu 22.04

Quickstart

To start a Jupyter lab server simply call

jupyter lab

and create a new SuperCollider notebook.

If everything worked out one can execute sclang commands in the browser now.
As Jupyter is already cell oriented there is no need to create surrounding ( ) brackets anymore!
To execute a cell simply hit <shift> + <return>.
Anything that is printed in sync by the command will be displayed below the cell, making it clear what each command returned.