SC vs Modular Synths (Eurorack)

Hi, gentle People of SC!

I hope this question of mine does’nt sound naive or worse :slight_smile:

I got first hooked to Electronic Music thanks to DAWs, until I’ve come into SC (oh, happy day!!!) which I’m still learning and studying (BTW, to discover this forum was a major breakthrough as well!).

Ever since I’ve heard about modular synths, I’ve been strangely attracted… I was very fascinated by all those knobs, cursors, coloured cables, and most of all, the amazing sounds that came from it all…

In these last days, my curiosity grew so strong that I went to a local store to have a closer look and I’m seriously thinking about going for it (I mean, buying a €1000,00 worth gear, oscillator, enveloper, filter and a few more things).

But, since I don’t like to through money away, I would like to ask you guys a question :

Do I get something from Eurorack modules that I would NEVER get from SC?

Is there something that Eurorack modules can do that SC CANNOT do?

So, in a few words, do I really need to buy Eurorack modules in order to obtain certain effects, sounds and bleeps I would never get any other way?

Thanks in advance for your kind answers/opinions, hoping that I didn’t put too silly of a question (this is my first post here!).

Cheers!!!

kriyananda

Hi kriyananda

I totally understand your fascination with modular synths. I don’t have any as they’re simply too expensive, although I do have a couple of synths: Prophet, Roland SH101, PolyEvolver.

Your question asks, “SC vs Modular Synths”, of which I’d have to say the answer really depends on what you want to do with synths or modules! I’d suggest before spending your money, trying out a modular set-up with https://vcvrack.com. You’ll at least get a feel (for free) of how modular works, and some of the pros and cons too.

dear joesh, many thanks for your prompt reply!!!