Scaffolding for a midi-controlled analog synth emulator

Trying to make a midi-controlled analog synth emulator for the Minimoog. This is my first attempt to write useful and extensible supercollider code. I don’t have enough control bits on my midi controller (arriving shortly) so I will still need a GUI for some of the components.

Before I get too deep into things, I’d love some overall structural guidance on the code style. Would particularly appreciate feedback on the GUI, SynthDef, and Control Bus management. I realize that the synthedef is nowhere near any sort of minimoog yet, we’ll get there eventually, I hope =]

the code

p.s. is there an autoformatter for supercollider? something like python black or prettier for javascript or gofmt for go?

Hello apiaran ! Welcome to the forum :slight_smile: .

Your code is working great ! That’s mostly about code optimisation, to ease your development process. There’s only one issue, which is difficult to diagnose at first, regarding the way you add your SynthDef, then trigger the synth. I’ll get there in time.

I think that you should comment your code. I find commented code easier to read, because it catches the eye, and you somehow get to know what you’re looking at at first glance.

I’ve regrouped everything in a single block (except the boot command). For now you have split everything, which also works, but can make development tedious because you have to re-evaluate everything when you make a modification. And this forces you to use global variables. That’s not a bad thing, but if you do not intend to do livecoding, only to use GUI and controller, there’s no point complicating everything. Note that having a single block doesn’t prevent global variable usage.

Here’s the code I propose :

// Boot the server
s.boot;

(
var window = Window("MiniMoog Controls");
var miniMoogSynth;

var gate = 0;
var toggleGate;
var gateButton;

// Functionalities
toggleGate = {
	if(gate == 0)
	{ gate = 1 }
	{ gate = 0 };