Struggling with project structure

I’m a long time programmer - with old languages , Assembler , Fortran , C , Java etc etc.
But I’m struggling to find out from the docs how to structure a modular project.
I’m thinking for example of gui modules and synth modules. The way I think is to write synth modules then stash each one in some kind of library - to be invoked from guis - then just execute the gui.
Cheers - jjhm

1 Like

this question might be a bit left-field, but i’m curious — how long have you been using supercollider and what artistic goals are you trying to achieve?

As far as I know there is no require or import or include in sclang.
(May be someone else corrects me)
The only way to go are SC Classes files that are loaded on interpreter init.
http://doc.sccode.org/Guides/WritingClasses.html

I’ve published probably over 10,000 lines of code written using object prototypes – using object-oriented design, but with “soft” objects that can be loaded any time during a session.

Prototype-based programming is not quite as transparent, and it’s slightly slower, but the last 14 or so years that I’ve been working with it suggest that it’s definitely a practical and well-functioning approach.

ddwChucklib-livecode, a live coding dialect for SC, implements its parser completely using prototypes (including a complete abstract syntax tree), no hardcoded classes.

So it’s not true that class files are the only way to go.

hjh

I’m not sure what you mean by how long - do you mean 1)since my first use or 2)how long in man days. if #1 then a few years. if #2 then my use has been in bursts. Up to now I have followed the templates in the examples - for instance with guis and synthdefs in the same file - then executing blocks of code within those files.
Please indicate how the artistic goals to relate the subject of my question - maybe I’m missing something. I want to use guis to trigger and modify samples and synths .

1 Like