Tutorials/Resources/Code using Feedback?

Hello everyone,

I’m curious if there is any tutorial or more resources for utilising Feedback in SuperCollider.
I really like the idea of UGens like LocalIn, LocalOut or InFeedback or all of the cool stuff that comes with the Feedback quark, but I always struggle to work out something interesting beyond playing with the concepts that are written in the documentation.
Feedback is one of the things that ive found very enjoyable working with analogue synths or no-input-mixing-boards and where my SuperCollider experience has come seemingly short, but its propably just my lack of proper knowlege on how to work with it.

Does anyone have more resources or can point me in some direction where i could find some?

Thanks a lot!

I’m not very experienced with feedback, but one thing with analog modules and mixing boards is that there’s always noise in the system, whereas scsynth’s resting state is pure silence (0.0). So maybe part of the trick is to inject some low-amplitude noise into the chain in a few strategic places. Also introduce non-linearities (soft clipping e.g. tanh, or some third-party analog-modeling plugin suites might have fancier types of distortion).

hjh

2 Likes

This was a good thread as I remember…

Also this blog post by Nathan:

(Btw I am more familiar playing with feedback digitally, and have found maybe a similar confusion when trying to use feedback in e.g. analog modular - I think maybe because digital feedback necessarily introduces a small delay, and/or as James says doesn’t inherently involve noise or irregularity, the intuition feels totally different)