Untouched earlier custom classes/Extensions now broken

Hello everyone,

first some quick context: I have been using SuperCollider for well over 10 years, and am now trying to continue development in it while using the latest version (now using: 3.12.0, on macOS 11.5.1).

However, classes (defined in Extensions) which I have written, thoroughly tested and long used without problems no longer function.

I seem to have isolated the problem, or at least part of it, in the following example code:

START OF SEPARATE FILE “MyPrimitives.sc” (EXTENSION):

MyPrimitives
{
  pulse_bipolar_lim
  {
    arg a_freq = 100.0,
        a_pWidth = 0.5;

var a_pWidth_clipped = Clip.ar (in: a_pWidth, lo: 0.0, hi: 1.0);

var uGenGraph = Pulse.ar (freq: a_freq, width: a_pWidth_clipped, mul: -1.0);

^uGenGraph;
  }
}

END OF SEPARATE FILE

START OF MAIN CODE:

Server.default = Server.local.boot;

~myPrimitives = MyPrimitives.new;

(
  ~testSynth = SynthDef
  ( "testSynth",
    {
      // Yields an output tone:
      var out_sig = ~myPrimitives.pulse_bipolar_lim ( );

// Adding this line yields a silent crash ("Server 'localhost' exited with exit code 0."):
      out_sig = out_sig + ~myPrimitives.pulse_bipolar_lim ( );

Out.ar (bus: 0, channelsArray: 0.04 * out_sig);
    }
  ).play;
)
~testSynth.free;

END OF MAIN CODE.

I of course hope somebody can shed light on this. It is no overstatement to say that all my existing code is broken and that I cannot write new code in SuperCollider.

With kind regards,
Staas.

I suspect a rate mismatch between Clip.ar and the scalar default inputs. Some UGens, at audio rate, expect audio rate input.

I’m not at my computer now, but you can look in the class library for usages of methodSelectorForRate, to match the UGen’s output rate to the input(s).

That’s only a guess – I haven’t tested.

hjh

OK, here’s what I get:

(
f = {
	arg a_freq = 100.0,
	a_pWidth = 0.5;

var a_pWidth_clipped = Clip.ar (in: a_pWidth, lo: 0.0, hi: 1.0);

uGenGraph;
};
)