Using pianoteq

Hi,

I am currently playing around with supercollider and the pianoteq trial and as a total noob I have a few questions:

I have found two ways of using pianoteq: You can either run pianoteq as its own process and control it via midi or run it as a vst-plugin and control it via vst_midi events.
It seems to me that when you run it as plugin you have more control over it (you can use the set-method) - is that correct or does it not matter? When would you prefer to run it in its own process?

When you run it as a plugin you have the gui() and editor() methods to tweak it. There seems to be no programmatic control over what you can do with the editor (is that right?), whereas you seem to be able to programmatically control what you can do via gui() by using the get and set methods.

Some parameters are displayed as strings in the gui (e.g “440 Hz”), whereas when I “get” the corresponding parameter I receive a float. My theory is that all parameters are floats and it is the gui that translates some parameters into strings - is that correct?

It seems to me that when you run it as plugin you have more control over it

Yes! Also, with the \vst_midi event type you get precise timing, just like with “regular” Pbinds. When you send MIDI to another process, there will always be some timing jitter.

There seems to be no programmatic control over what you can do with the editor

Yes, the set method only works for VST parameters, but plugins often have additional functionality that is only accessible via the plugin UI. However, you can tweak the settings in the plugin UI and save the current state as a program (writeProgram) or a list of bytes (getProgramData); you can then recall the state any time with readProgram resp. setProgramData.

My theory is that all parameters are floats and it is the gui that translates some parameters into strings - is that correct?

Correct!

Many thanks so far, but I now I have a follow-up question: