What programming language to learn to prepare for SClang?

About 4 months ago I worked with SuperCollider and I realize that starting SuperCollider without programming basics is complicated.

Of course, I do it by pecking here and there in the various tutorials and by asking questions in this forum, but I am often blocked by lack of experience in programming … and there are no systematic courses of programming language in SClang.

What would you recommend to me as a programming language that is sufficiently close to SClang, with consequent teaching resources?

Thank you :slight_smile:

You could try learning Ruby ! It’s pretty close in a lot of areas, and a nice little language to learn.

1 Like

Take my advice with a grain of salt, because I am not a good programmer.

I started out with python, which isn’t syntactically close to sclang at all, but I learned some object-oriented concepts nonetheless that helped me out with sc. I used the book “learn python the hard way” by Zed Shaw. Once I finished that, I worked through some of project Euler (https://projecteuler.net), which helped with thinking about programming problems.

If you go with something like Ruby, Zed Shaw also has “learn ruby the hard way.” And project Euler is language agnostic.

1 Like

my advice is to focus on making music/sound with the skills you have and not worry about whether you’re on the ideal pedagogical track. if something is too challenging, then it’s okay to shelve it and try something less ambitious, and come back to it when you’re more experienced. we’re also a beginner-friendly environment here, and we’d be happy to help with any obstacles you run into.

but i get if you want to learn a more mainstream language. i recommend Python and JavaScript, both excellent beginner languages that are popular and very practical to know. (similarity to SC is not as big of a deal as you might think.)

3 Likes