Why do you use SuperCollider?

Got a question in another thread…

It wasn’t related to that thread, but it’s a good question – and one that could spark some interesting storytelling. So I thought, why not open a new thread for it?

To answer that question – I’ve been using SC for about 18 years. I think it was right at the end of 2002 that I got hold of the free release of SC2, and quickly switched to SC3.

In my MIDI work, I was always interested in materials that seem to be repeating but which are slightly different from bar to bar. I spent hours making little tweaks to MIDI sequences by hand – it’s a key element of my electronic style. It didn’t take long after starting with SC to figure out that algorithmic, generative techniques were ideal for this style feature. So, to me, programming to make music isn’t a compromise or a technical exercise – it’s a better way to produce the textures that I would have made by hand otherwise. Also I was long interested in live performance where it doesn’t just loop, and where I can improvise the overall musical direction. With live coding, I’m finally in that territory in the last few years. (Last week I had an hour long set in a very good electronic music club in Shenzhen, China – it’s amazing to me to see SC handling a lot of processing over a long time span, and not crash.)

There are other factors, such as, I have mixing and note control frameworks with 15 years history – rebuilding in another environment now would grind me to a halt for an uncomfortably long time. So I stay in a place where I’ve got things working basically the way I want (though, 4 years ago or so, I was finding a lot of bugs and considered abandoning it – I’m glad I didn’t, as SC 3.11 is generally very stable).

hjh

8 Likes

i use it as a hobby - but it’s a hobby i’m practically obsessed with - it is the perfect instrument to do music for music’s sake and coding for coding’s sake

3 Likes