Why predeclared variables?

Does anyone know why sclang requires you to declare variables at the top of functions instead of inline? I’d be interested to know if there’s something about the interpreter or whatever that means its necessary? I’m not an expert on programming languages or interpreters, so I’d have a tough time reading the source code, but I’m just curious about this as it’s not necessary in C any more.

I think the technical term is “hoisted” - javascript automatically hoists var declarations, meaning it treats them as if they were placed at the beginning of a function. This makes for some weird and awful things - you can “var foo” declare a variable after you do foo = 10, for example :face_vomiting:.

SuperCollider does not do this - I don’t know of a specific reason. I’ve tried to add this a couple times before, but it seems extra tricky due to some particulars of the language.

If anyone wants to try to be a hero and tackle this feature - or just wants to learn a little bit about how sclang is parsed, or how parsers work in general… The sclang parser lives in the lang11d file here. The make_parser.sh script uses the lang11d to generate actual C++ code for the parser, which will turn source code into AST nodes that are then compiled. Adding “hoisted var declarations” support would most likely be a parser change, plus possibly a little C++ to keep track of variable declarations collected during the course of a function. If you change the parser and run make_parser.sh it will generate the corresponding .h and .cpp files, or notify you if for some reason you made a change that isn’t logically consistent (this is usually what happens). Bison parser syntax is pretty well documented, and it’s not so hard to play around with the lang11d to make minor modifications and see what you get.

1 Like