Evaluate & copy

Is there a shortcut for Evaluate & copy the printed result in the post window?

This would be very neat for live-coding!

1 Like

Hello,

I am not good at live code, but the question is so fascinating that I write something.
If SC-IDE offered a shortcut for evaluating and copying the printed result in the post window, that would be useful.
But could you provide a specific example of when you require such cases?
I’m asking because we can reuse data using variables and because the Post window truncates output text when it gets too long.
I may be misinterpreting your question, but the examples you have to copy the outcome of the code evaluations intrigue me. In addition, other users who work with live codes might assist you if you list some cases.

Hi, thanks for your response!

I have created a dictionary which includes formatted SCTwits as strings. During the performance, I am accessing a SCTwit by evaluating the dictionary, e.g.

~scTwits[\rukano][0]

The index number corresponds to various SCTwits by the same composer.

Now, I have to go with the mouse to the post window, select the formatted SCTwit, copy it, and paste it into the editor which takes 2-5 seconds. If I could Evaluate and have the output directly copied to the clipboard, I could do that in less than a second, which would enable a more flexible and musical expression.

OK, I see.

How about this even though there are some problems?

~scTwits = Dictionary();
~scTwits.put(\composer1, List[])

~scTwits[\composer1].insert(0, "(Pbind('degree', Pseq((0..7), 1), 'dur', 0.1)).play")

~scTwits[\composer1][0].interpret
// works!

~scTwits[\composer1].insert(1, "(Pbind(\degree, Pseq((0..7), 1), \dur, 0.1)).play")

~scTwits[\composer1][1].interpret
// does not work!

~scTwits[\composer1].insert(2, "(Pbind(\\degree, Pseq((0..7), 1), \\dur, 0.1)).play")

~scTwits[\composer1][2].interpret
// works!

~scTwits[\composer1].insert(3, "(Pbind(\note, Pseq((0..7), 1), \dur, 0.1)).play")