Is it possible to get the output of a ugen as an array of floats (audio buffer)?

I’m new to super collider, and just bumped into something that I thought would be easy to find in the documentation or online examples, but I’m stumped.

What I’d like to do is send the live audio from super collider as a float array via OSC. This float array would be used to visualize the audio buffer as a waveform in an external app.

I’ve verified I can send and receive a float array via OSC, for example:

b = NetAddr.new("127.0.0.1", 9912);  
~msg =  [\test, 2.231, 0.2, 0.233];
b.sendMsg(*~msg);

but I can’t figure out how to get access to the playing back audio as a float array. Most of the references I can find to the Buffer object refer to loading samples from disk.

Any tips appreciated. Thx!

Have a look at how s.scope is implemented, you should be able to find everything in there.
I think it uses a buffer?

Hrmm - being new to supercollider I’m not sure exactly how to find the s.scope implementation. I poked around in the github repo but couldn’t track it down. Would this approach require writing my own ugen or extension for supercollider (Not sure what the right nomenclature to use here is)? Thx for the suggestion!

I found some other classes that look like they might be useful, but they’re undocumented. For example:
https://doc.sccode.org/Classes/ScopeBuffer.html
https://doc.sccode.org/Classes/ScopeOut.html

I also found this RecordBuf ugen.

in the IDE you can get to the implementation of everything using control-i. so you’d place your cursor over the word scope, do control-i and you get a list of classes which implement a scope method. there you can scroll to the one you like the see and get a preview or open the file with enter.

Ahhh - that’s super helpful. So if i’m understanding correctly, you can modify those .sc files or add your own classes as you like? Just make sure to recompile class library ?

Thx!