JACK development files for Pipewire

Hi everyone

This is my first time installing SuperCollider on a computer which is using PipeWire. I’m following the instructions here: Installing SuperCollider from source on Ubuntu · supercollider/supercollider Wiki · GitHub

I haven’t installed JACK at all because the distro already had PipeWire. When I run the command:

cmake ..

I get the error:

CMake Error at server/scsynth/CMakeLists.txt:43 (message):
  Jack selected as audio API, but development files not found

I assume this is because I don’t have the equivalent of libjack-jackd2-dev. Is this the right package to install if I’m using PipeWire? Or do I need something else?

Thanks

Hi. No-one has built supercollider on Ubuntu using Pipewire (i.e. any Ubuntu from 22.10)?

I build supercollider on arch linux with pipewire/wireplumber and didn’t need to install anything special for building. Just the regular jack development stuff. If I understand correctly, pipewire offers a library that is binary compatible with jack (in other words, it can disguise itself as jack to applications who want to use jack).

1 Like

Yes - I thought that package (on Ubuntu) was pipewire-jack, but I can still can’t build SC.

Looks like I have to install relevant-looking packages at random and keep trying. If I find the right one I’ll post the answer.

Admittedly I’m guessing here, but I think what shiihs is saying is that to build SC, you need the JACK dev package, even if you’re planning to run pipewire – “didn’t need to install anything special for building. Just the regular jack development stuff” – this quote to me looks like it’s saying to build using the documented dependencies, without adjusting for pipewire.

If I’m reading that correctly, then pipewire-jack would not satisfy the libjack-dev dependency, but pipewire-jack might be used at runtime so that scsynth thinks it’s connecting to a JACK server.