ProxySpace, Ndefs or Standard?

I’m somewhat new to SC (after several months of serious study).

I’m trying to get a system down for a sort of ‘live-coding’ performance but also using it like a DAW and getting stems out from chosen nodes for further processing.

There seems to be a large divide in capabilities between the options (though I’ve also seen people do some really genius stuff).

It seems in my opinion that most of the help in the non-proxy sort of way offers a lot of options not available or pretty cryptic with any kind of Proxy.

I maybe am looking for a magic bullet that doesn’t exist, but would love to have the power and ease of interactive programming and automatic synchronization via ProxySpace or Ndefs, but with the bus routing capabilities of the standard environment (the way most of the help and examples dictate).

I’d like the ability to play samples for beats, much like: https://theseanco.github.io/howto_co34pt_liveCode/

But also use standard Synth code routing without Proxies. And by ‘routing’ I mean sending multiple synths to an FX bus. I generally work that way in a DAW, with some FX in the instrument/track chain, and some on their own buses with various tracks routing to them (which would also be stemmed out).

One of the real intriguing powers of SuperCollider are the Audio and Control bus capabilities for dynamically altering signals.

I seem to get 80% of the way to this with either path, but run into sync issues of not having a common time, or with routing issues in ProxySpace. I did find this most helpful: Ndef Bus question

And @jamshark70 mentioned the Quark for JITLib ProxySubmix for ProxySpace (Thank you)

But I’d love to hear what everyone has done for any working system to get everything functioning in this way. I feel like I’m missing something terribly crucial along with the issue of thousands of ways to approach this.

1 Like

I’ve been mulling this thread over.